This is a story about…

Have you ever commentated a race?

I have.

It wasn’t at a sports facility, commentating a group of people on a race track, nor was it on the radio or television or for a local organisation.

I commentated the race between a girl and a train. I commentated my morning commute.

You might question my motives behind the exciting story of one girl’s journey from bus to train in the hope of catching the earliest possible piece of transport.

I didn’t have any motives, I just thought it would be fun.

And my followers on Twitter were given a more exciting version of my travels than ‘stood at train station. It’s cold‘ which is what I normally tweet. I asked for bets on whether I would make the train and whilst I got no response, when I’ve done this in the past, my followers have always been happy to comply.

I don’t know how many people followed my pursuit, or even cared. But it was an exciting experiment.

I wonder what it would be like to commentated a whole day of your life. To act as though each and every action is an exciting moment. They have those animal shows on television where the presenter talks in that excited voice they have about a cheetah running and catching its prey. Perhaps more exciting than my walk to the kitchen or playful scuffle with the cat.

It reminds me in many ways of ‘Stranger Than Fiction‘. Have you seen it? If not, I recommend it. It’s basically a film about a  man’s life with a voice-over.

This is a story about a man named Harold Crick and his wristwatch. Harold Crick was a man of infinite numbers, endless calculations, and remarkably few words. And his wristwatch said even less. Every weekday, for twelve years, Harold would brush each of his thirty-two teeth seventy-six times.

And so the commentating of life resembles this somewhat, but instead of talking about the mundane actions in life in a mundane way. You could make it the most exciting thing in the world.

I plan to try this again…perhaps a whole day of commentating my life.

Here’s this mornings example:
It’s touch and go. Pegs and the train are neck and neck. But the train has a clear run. Can Pegs make it through the ticket office and get to platform 4? The ticket office appears to be empty. This is good news for Pegs who is almost there, but so is the train! Pegs has been held up by an awkward £10 note & a crowd of arriving passengers. Are they from platform 4? They are. If Pegs doesn’t run, she’s gonna miss her train. And oh my God, I can’t believe it, Pegs reaches the  platform as the train pulls away from the station. It’s 1-0 to the train. This is a sad day for Pegs. Had she had her money in her hand ahead of time, she would have made it, but her tweeting slowed her down.

Leave a Reply

