94. See a famous painting in real life (e.g. Mona Lisa, Van Gogh’s Sunflowers)

Today I completed one of my 100 things to do before I die, I completed number 94 which is to see a famous painting in real life (e.g. Mona Lisa, Van Gogh’s Sunflowers). I specifically put the e.g. in because it didn’t matter which painting I saw. As it turns out, I saw SEVERAL!

When we walked into one of the rooms of the National Gallery I spotted a painting across on the opposite wall and I knew in an instant what it was. It was a bridge…a specific bridge over a water lily pond, belonging to Manet.

(I love this painting more now that I’ve seen it…but really, from up close, it kind of looks like a bunch of random marks.)

I thought that was all we were going to see as we wandered around and found nothing else I recognised. Then as the place was preparing people for closing (probably a half hour warning as we stayed a bit longer) we found a board that told us where all the famous famous paintings were. There on the board I saw the Sunflowers…yes, the very same sunflowers from my e.g. I couldn’t not go to them.

(Not only was there the flowers but there was also HIS CHAIR! Plus a few others – I swear one of them (the less known to me ones) was shown on Doctor Who!)

Then as I turned around I spotted another familiar painting. I wasn’t sure how I knew it though Henri Rousseau was a familiar name to me. I was in awe and it was rather huge!!!

AND THEN…I got to see some Degas and Renoir too! Even though those pictures are less known to me, the ones we saw. But wow!

Talk about completing one of my goals…I think I smashed this one! Made me very happy!

2 thoughts on “94. See a famous painting in real life (e.g. Mona Lisa, Van Gogh’s Sunflowers)

  1. Hurrah for this post! I don’t really know if I have a ‘100 things’ list. I know Jillyloves is doing a 30 before 30 thing which is pretty cool.

    Was never bothered by art, I am more now I think. Went to the Lourve as a teenager and literally RAN through it, gazed at the Mona Lisa for a milisecond and then went to read my book outside. After reading Dan Brown maybe I’d take my time, but at 17 I was so far from bothered!!

    Glad you had a good day 🙂

    1. Ooh 30 before 30 is cool! I don’t know why I began my list, but it’s enjoyable and I’m slowly ticking things off. Actually I do know why, it was because in 2008 within a couple of months of each other I got to visit two places I’d wanted to visit for about 8 years each. Achieving that in such a short space of time pushed me into it.

      Oh, you’ve seen the Mona Lisa? Awesome! I guess there are times in life when we’re less interested in the things around us. I’ve never been *too* bothered about famous paintings. But I put it on my list anyway (hey, I don’t appreciate golf as a sport nor do I like the sound of fishing, but I put trying them on there) and well it made me more excited when I did see them. What book were you reading instead of visiting the paintings? 😛

Leave a Reply

