I need a roof to sit on.

My first ever tape (yes, I’m talking pre-CDs) was by Robson and Jerome, two actors who were given a recording contract after singing together on the TV show Soldier, Soldier. I was a massive fan and I was very happy to have their song in my possession. Of course I didn’t know then that the song was actually a cover of a The Drifters song. Regardless, whichever version I listen to (my annoyances at covers dates after this songs release and it was the only version I knew for about ten years so I do still enjoy the Robson and Jerome cover) I still have the same lovely feelings as I had on day one. This is a song of hope, a song of getting away from the world and finding meaning in being alone. There’s only one catch, you have to go…

Up On The Roof

Yes, that was a bad joke type thing, haha.

To analyse the first two lines, they just give me so much hope that you can feel better again even after a bad day.

When this old world starts getting me down and people are just too much for me to face. I climb way up to the top of the stairs and all my cares just drift right into space.

Now I just need to find a roof to go sit on top of…any ideas?

Leave a Reply

