Step by step, little by little

For today Katy wanted us to think about the most memorable books from our childhood. Whilst I knew instantly which books I would talk about, it’s also a little difficult to do so. Mostly because they’re old books which no longer appear to be in print. It makes me sad to think that some books in this world will not be shared with the next generation.

The first book I want to tell you about is the only book I can find online: Teddy’s First Christmas.

It’s very much a children’s book because it’s got a lot of pictures and very few words. I don’t remember exactly what it’s about (other than the obvious) but I remember reading it and re-reading it repeatedly. I still have it somewhere. It always made me smile. Good old Teddy.

Another book was called Today’s the Day (I think, my memory is struggling) and it’s the book I got my title from. Again, it’s a book I remember little of the actual story, except that it’s about fruit and vegetables (personified) who take part in a sports day. There’s this little fungus who has such teeny tiny legs and he really struggles to walk around the route. It escapes me who says it, but it really spoke to me and still does to this day. It doesn’t matter if he’s the fastest because all that does matter and is that he takes the race step by step, little by little. This book is definitely out of print because I tried to find a copy a couple of years ago – one of the hardest things I have ever done! But I found a copy, it was old and as tatty as our own copy (which I found not long after buying the ‘new’ one).

The final book I simply must tell you about I can’t quite remember its name, but I’ll have another look to see if I can find it later. It was and always will be my favourite book, ever. It’s red and it’s faling to pieces but it’s a collection of stories, rhymes, poems, just a general collection of fiction for children. I’ve read bits of it over and over again. It’s the kind of book you can dip in and out of. Though there are two stories (well a story and a poem) which I want to tell you about the most.

Little Bear Goes to the Moon. Have you ever seen the animated series about Little Bear? It’s perfect, in that it tells the stories of Little Bear without changing him or the essence of the story. In my big red book is the story of when he goes to the moon and it’s so beautiful. Words can’t even begin to describe. I wish I could find it then I could share with you some of what Mother Baer says.

The poem I can tell you word for word without the book (and I will leave you with it). It’s the only poem I know by heart and I’m not even sure why I love it as much as I do, but something made me memorise it.

I had a little tea party this afternoon at three. Twas very small.  Three guests in all, Just I myself and me. Myself ate up the sandwiches, Whilst I drank the tea. Twas also I who ate the pie And passed the cake to me.

So apparently we were only supposed to talk about three books, but I HAVE to tell you about another one.

Each Peach Pear Plum.

Have you ever read it? I know it word for word. I won’t tell you the whole thing, but I will tell you a little of it, it features lots of familiar faces.

Each peach pear plum I spy Tom Thumb, Tom Thumb in the cupboard I spy Mother Hubbard, Mother Hubbard in the cellar I spy Cinderella.

Another firm favourite.

2 thoughts on “Step by step, little by little

  1. OMG I LOVED Each Peach Pair Plum, I reckon I could still remember it all off by heart! Haha! Good job I didn’t read this before, would have most definitely made my list longer than 3, already had to leave off The Very Hungry Caterpillar and The Jolly Postman, not to mention a good few more. You’ve added more than a few books to my ‘check out’ list here though, have never heard of half of them! Thanks 😀

  2. I haven’t heard of any of those books :O :O I will hunt them all down (well, I’ll try!!) and look into them all 😀

Leave a Reply

