A winding path…

A winding path of quick decent

Lined with flowers and trees aplenty

Birds a-flying and a-singing

Five or ten or maybe twenty

 

Leaves are falling from up high

Landing carelessly around

Crunching echoes across the park

Children stamping on the ground

 

Water flowing down crooked rocks

Splashing out across the lake

People feeding ducks and swans

Don’t get too close, for goodness sake

 

A band of men talk out loud

Dogs gallop across grassy fields

Children frolic all around

With balls and swords and mighty shields

 

The parks perimeters grow tall

Trees, bushes and walls alike

Landscaped gardens full of flowers

Such a colourful, pretty sight

 

Time to leave the beautiful estate

The night suddenly descends

All of the fun and all of the games

Quickly reach their happy ends

 

Friday’s theme, set by Katy S, was to walk down a path…not a real path…but to wander down it in our imaginations and see where it takes us. I’m very late in doing what I’m supposed to have done. My motivation to write has been lacking and more so with creative writing (which was the aim of this theme). I was going to write about this path, word for word each step and glance but it wasn’t working. I’m not sure why I decided to write it as a poem, but I hope you’ve enjoyed it all the time. It’s not my best work, but it seemed to flow enough and it’s getting late.

2 thoughts on “A winding path…

  1. I love this 😀 It is so much better than what I expected 😀 Awesome times. You really are magnificent with words 🙂 xx

  2. You REALLY are magnificent with words! Couldn’t have put it better myself, this is brilliant 🙂 I am so excited for January and all the awesome things you’re going to write.

Leave a Reply

