Past, Present or Future…which Christmas do you like best?

The Ghosts of Christmas Past, Present and Future are making a visit tonight, I don’t know whether to be scared or excited, though it is a theme set by Katy S and she does great themes (as does Katy P), so really it’s something to enjoy.

Dear the Ghost of Christmas Past, once upon a time, a long time ago I used to visit a friend on Christmas Eve. I was thinking about this just the other day and strangely enough, I bumped into her this evening. We were really good friends as children, we literally did everything together. Once a year, for a few years, I would go round to her house and we would watch a Christmas cartoon that she had on tape. I remember the year when she seemed less interested in doing so, though I don’t remember when that was. When we were little, I also used to go around to see her on Christmas morning, or she would come to my house. We only live a minutes’ walk away from each other – slightly closer now she’s got her own house, and that’s saying something! – so it was always really easy to do. I’d completely forgotten about that part of my childhood, so it’s nice to remember.

Oh Present, Present, Ghost of Christmas Present, how many presents are you bringing me this year? What? It’s Father Christmas that’s bringing me them? Okay, then, do you know what I’m going to be doing this year? I’m going to be spending Christmas morning in the house with my parents – I doubt my sister will be around, the other one isn’t coming back as she no longer celebrates Christmas – so really it’ll be like any other day, except with presents. We will no doubt go and pick said sister up – and her friend, since her friend is joining us for Christmas dinner – then we will visit one of my aunties. Then on to my dad’s youngest brother’s house for Christmas dinner with his side of the family – something my mother insists on telling people outside of that side of the family that she doesn’t want to do it, yet hasn’t decided to do anything else, so she’ll grunt and groan a little – and then we’ll head off to my other aunties for the evening entertainment, brought to you by all of the family. It’ll be the first time I see my aunties house actually – she moved to France, then came back and bought a house a few doors away from the one she sold before going to France – so it’ll be nice to see it. Fingers crossed I’m in the winning team for the annual quiz though.

What will come of the Ghost of Christmas Future? I wish I knew. I’m still trying to persuade my mother to do something different with the Christmas occasion. The last few years, things have happened which have changed our usual Christmas beyond our control and that’s okay in some ways, but I’d like to be the one to make changes this time. I like family Christmas, I like seeing everyone for that one day…but I wouldn’t mind spending Christmas day at home. Even if we go to visit my dad’s side of the family for an hour, come back to the house for our Christmas happenings and then go to my mum’s side of the family for our evening entertainment. It’s a compromise…and quite frankly, everyone else will do it, so why can’t we?

Thanks Katy S, this has been a fun theme. Check out the lovely ladies blogs, to the right to the right, all the links you need are over there on the right (yes, that should be sung in Beyonce’s voice).

One thought on “Past, Present or Future…which Christmas do you like best?

  1. There’s a quiz?! That’s awesome!! I like blog themes that make us remember things, like Christmas eves with your friend. As well as those which make us look forward to things. This has been a really good theme, well done Katy!

Leave a Reply

