Alphathon: Ladles, Jellyspoons and a little bit of poetry

Ladles and Jellyspoons? What an awesome title for a blog theme. No, it’s not about food…it’s about poetry. So what is my favourite poem?

Well, I have a number of poems that I enjoy.

There’s a poem I know by heart from when I was a child that I continue to love:

There was a little tea party this afternoon at three.

Twas very small, three guests in all: just I, myself and me.

Myself ate up the sandwiches.

Whilst I drank the tea.

Twas also I who ate the pie.

And passed the cake to me.

I have a feeling I’ve shared that before and since it’s a children’s poem, I will also share with you a couple of ‘adult’ poems which have stayed with me.

Our Love Now by Martyn Lowery was in the GCSE poetry anthology when I did my GCSEs, it might still be there now. It’s not really very well-known but I absolutely love the imagery used. Usually the I said and She said are split on the page with the I said on the left and the She said on the right, but to make it easier for you all to read it I will post it all up in the order it should be read.

 

I said,

observe how the wound heals in time,

how the skin slowly knits

and once more becomes whole

The cut will mend, and such

is our relationship.

 

She said,

Although the wound heals

and appears cured, it is not the same.

There is always a scar,

a permanent reminder.

Such is our love now.

 

I said,

observe the scab of the scald,

the red burnt fl esh is ugly,

but it can be hidden.

In time it will disappear,

Such is our love, such is our love.

 

She said,

Although the burn will no longer sting

and we’ll almost forget that it’s there

the skin remains bleached

and a numbness prevails.

Such is our love now.

 

I said,

remember how when you cut your hair,

you feel different, and somehow incomplete.

But the hair grows – before long

it is always the same.

Our beauty together is such.

 

She said,

After you’ve cut your hair,

it grows again slowly. During that time

changes must occur,

the style will be different.

Such is our love now.

 

I said,

listen to how the raging storm

damages the trees outside.

The storm is frightening

but it will soon be gone.

People will forget it ever existed.

The breach in us can be mended.

 

She said,

Although the storm is temporary

and soon passes,

it leaves damage in its wake

which can never be repaired.

The tree is forever dead.

Such is our love.


Another firm favourite is The Ecchoing Green by William Blake. I seem to like poems that I study because I studied William Blake at AS level. I liked the poem but I didn’t really love it until I studied it and so began to understand the feeling in it and just how utterly heartbreaking it is. Every time I read it I always feel extremely sad and nostalgic.

The Sun does arise,

And make happy the skies.

The merry bells ring,

To welcome the Spring.

The sky-lark and thrush,

The birds of the bush,

Sing louder around,

To the bells chearful sound,

While our sports shall be seen

On the Ecchoing Green.

 

Old John with white hair

Does laugh away care,

Sitting under the oak,

Among the old folk.

They laugh at our play,

And soon they all say,

Such such were the joys,

When we were all girls & boys,

In our youth time were seen,

On the Ecchoing Green.

 

Till the little ones weary

No more can be merry

The sun does descend,

And our sports have an end:

Round the laps of their mothers,

Many sisters and brothers,

Like birds in their nest,

Are ready for rest:

And sport no more seen,

On the darkening Green.

 

3 thoughts on “Alphathon: Ladles, Jellyspoons and a little bit of poetry

  1. I really like that last one 🙂 and yes I feel like you have shared the first one before.

    Ladles and Jellyspoons is also a poem, a girl in college told me she’d written it buuuuut it turns out she didn’t, haha.

    What kinds of things did you learn in school about the William Blake poem? I always appreciate things more when I understand them too I think 🙂

    1. Oh yes, that would make sense, haha. The name sounds familiar now too.

      I could probably say loooaaads about The Ecchoing Green so I’ll stick to the basic idea of what it could be about: life.

      The Sun does arise – like birth, the sun rising is the start of a new day, the start of a new life.
      While our sports shall be seen/On the Ecchoing Green – the sports is almost like being a child, being someone who can run and jump and be free, being alive I suppose.

      Old John with white hair/Among the old folk. – a representation of the older people in life.

      They laugh at our play,

      And soon they all say,

      Such such were the joys,

      When we were all girls & boys – remembering the past, when they used to play, when they were the children who would run and jump and be alive like that.

      Till the little ones weary

      No more can be merry

      The sun does descend,

      And our sports have an end: – the end stages of life, growing tired and old, the sun setting for the final time.

      Like birds in their nest,

      Are ready for rest:

      And sport no more seen,

      On the darkening Green – the change from ecchoing green to darkening green here, it’s like, instead of the same things happening – first it was being a child running around on the green, then it was being older and watching others running around on the green…and now that life is no more, ready for rest (for death) it’s time for it to go dark because life is over.

      Just explaining that makes me feel really sad.

      1. I’m quite pleased that I understood most of it, yay! Thanks for explaining!

        I understand the sad, but at the same time it’s the circle of life you know, and a lovely way of voicing it. It makes me think of these old guys we saw on Hvar, Croatia. They were sat outside by the sea singing, had obviously been around there all their lives. I could imagine them as boys, running round bare foot in the sand, and as teenagers and young men rolling their eyes at the grandparents singing every evening…till one day they realised they had become the older generation, sat outside enjoying the last of the suns heat with the boys they had grown old with…and one began to sing. Really made me smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

