Alphathon: Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens…

No, I haven’t skipped forward to R, and we’ve not gone back to F. It is, in fact…O day. In the words of Katy ‘Oh oh oh I LOVE that!’ so here we are…

What are my favourite things? Apparently I’m only allowed to tell you about just one thing that I LOVE.

Well, what could it be? There’s so many things out there that I adore: multiple television programmes, completing a story, songs, websites, lots of things really.

Okay, I know, I have two that I’m going to share because I thought of the first and then remembered the second.

Writing fanfiction can be really different to general writing I think because you’re more able to get feedback from the people who read it directly. One of my favourite things in the world is waking up in the morning to several comments in my inbox. The only thing that beats that is getting one really good review where the person just gets what I’ve written. Sometimes people don’t give very detailed reviews and a lot of people don’t review at all. So when you get one that’s long and full of amazing thoughts and it’s just an amazing feeling to have someone understand exactly you put on the page.

Secondly, have you ever ridden on a bike really, really, really fast? I keep doing it frequently, not just on a path or on the pavement but on the road. There’s this ‘main’ road near to where I live which isn’t that main but it’s a little busier than the residential streets around it. It basically takes you from my part of the estate to another part which leads towards Asda and where I have my Beaver Scout group so I take that route often when I go out on my bike and because I know I have to peddle to get to the end of it – I just go for it. The other day I got up to 37kmph and that was the most amazing feeling ever. Thinking about it, if something was to happen, that would pretty frightening…but the fact that I can get up to speeds that high without fearing for my safety is so bloody amazing that it makes me smile every single time.

I wonder what the other girls have picked today…go check out their blogs!!!

2 thoughts on “Alphathon: Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens…

  1. You keep make me want to cycle again! I’m thinking I might buy a bike when I get to Bangkok, rather than taxiing everywhere, but I guess it depends on the heat. As a kid I used to ride everywhere, would take the dogs out for a walk everyday pretty much. Quite a way down the lane opposite my house there’s a school just before the steepest hill. I used to ride as far as I could up it before freewheeling down just for fun 🙂 I didn’t have a speedometer or anything, but it felt like flying.

    1. Oooh, you should! Cycling can be so much fun. I can’t believe I went so long without doing it because I loved cycling as a kid…though I threw my bike around quite a bit when I did a paperround, haha.

      That hill sounds soo awesome, in fact your whole area is probably a great place for cycling!

Leave a Reply

