Alphathon: Rapid, rambling radishes…not really, CHOCOLATE CAKE.

FOOOOD! As you may have all gathered by now, food is something I love dearly. If there’s anything I love more than eating food, it’s making it. My favourite thing to bake is most definitely cake.

For Christmas I got a book which had hundreds of different cake recipes in it and at New Year I made, what I consider to be, the best chocolate cake ever. I hardly ever experiment with different kinds of cakes but I’ve really enjoyed doing so in recent months. I actually told Katy S that if the cake worked out I would give her the recipe but never did.

So today, as part of the theme I brought to the Alphathon – recipes – I’m going to share it with you all.

If you like to bake and you like to eat chocolate cake, this is definitely worth trying.

The recipe is actually for mocha chocolate cake, though I don’t like coffee so I substitute the coffee for vanilla essence/extract.

Ingredients:

260g (9oz) chocolate – it suggests dark but I tend to use 1 and a half bars of milk and half a bar of dark, then use the excess to melt and cover the cake. 3 standard large sized bars of chocolate works, I buy ASDAs own.

170g (6oz) butter

200g (7oz) caster sugar

3 eggs

70g (2.5oz) flour – it suggests plain flour but I always use self raising, I actually used sponge self raising flour, extra fine

2tbsp instant coffee dissolved in 2tbsp boiling water – or a capful or more of vanilla essence/extract

What to do?

Melt the chocolate and butter together – it suggests putting it in a heatproof bowl over a pan, or you can do it in the microwave. If you use the microwave then melt the chocolate halfway before adding the butter as that melts a lot faster.

Leave to cool for 5 minutes.

Stir in the sugar, beat in the eggs (a bit at a time) then sift the flour into the mixture and fold it in.

It suggests adding the coffee then, if you use vanilla you can either add the vanilla then or you can add it earlier when you add the eggs.

Bake the cake in a greased tin for 55 minutes on Gas Mark 3/160 degrees centigrade, until it’s firm on top with a slight wobble in the centre. I tend to check on it after 45 minutes. It’s worth putting on a reasonably low shelf – so about halfway in the oven – so that the top doesn’t burn. It might need a little longer than 55 minutes, simply keep an eye on it after 45 minutes.

As I said earlier I use the excess chocolate to melt and spread over the top of the cake.

Be warned that the cake is very sickly so you don’t want to top it with too much. The recipe suggests serving it with cream which might be a good idea. You don’t want a huge piece though, seriously, you’ll regret it later.

I wonder what the other ladies have come up with…don’t forget to have a look at their blogs, links on the right.

Leave a Reply

