Alphathon: I’ve been back to the year 1998.

1998, gosh, that was the year I started secondary school. It was the year that S Club 7 came into my life. I was a very different person back then, with hopes and dreams and this idea that secondary school would be the greatest thing. I was sad at having to say goodbye to so many of my great primary school friends and it’s still sad, really, that they’re not in my life anymore. I also had to say goodbye to a little girl from reception class who I really liked, we were good friends because as the oldest students we had to look after the youngest ones.

I was 11. That was pre-everything. It was before any of the worries that come with growing up. Things weren’t as they are now. I wasn’t a victim of bullying, I didn’t foresee myself getting depression, I didn’t see any of this.

Back then I wanted to be a mechanic.

I would go home at lunchtime because my sister went home, so they allowed me too as well. Generally those who were in year 7 weren’t allowed, but I was. I’ll always remember that little card that was my going home pass.

I met lots of new people, I got to sit next to people I didn’t really know very well. I got to learn what it was like to be in different classes to the rest of your form. Every lesson we were in the same classes for that first year, or at least part of it, but technology we were all mixed up. That was scary, we didn’t understand, but it worked out okay. Except that it was in that technology class where the bullying started…

It’s like another life ago. Another world where I didn’t mind standing up on a stage and performing, as long as my parents weren’t there to watch.

What a life.

 

Apologies to my fellow bloggeroos for being sooo delayed in finishing and for also not blogging to a suitable standard on these last 4 blogs. Unfortunately I have to leave, literally now, to go and work my abs or whatever they say about going to the gym. I’m scared and excited all at the same time. There’s this machine which will be really useful for building my archery muscles/strength. 😛

 

Leave a Reply

