Killing time: in triplicate

I’m really bad at killing time, if I’m waiting for something (whether it’s an appointment, a visitor, or an event) I struggle to wait patiently. I’m not sure what it is about waiting that drives me so crazy, but if I could remove all essence of waiting from my life, I would. It’s why I tend to carry a book around with me, or drain the battery on my phone constantly.

That’s not to say that I don’t enjoy sitting around waiting for things, if it’s something I don’t mind waiting for then I’m more than happy to sit and read a book as I wait, or wander around the streets as I’ve arrived early.

On the flip side, you have the days when there is no time to think, or even breathe, because life is too busy happening and you can’t quite keep up. Those days, I forget that waiting even exists. I enjoy spending time with friends, going on holidays/trips and generally doing things I enjoy with the time I have. Those situations leave me wishing that the hours wouldn’t fly by.

Time can be one of the best and worst things in the world, depending on how you look at it.

The question is, what if there was more of it? What if time suddenly moved slower and we had more hours in every day?

In my current state of unemployment, my first thought is that I would be forced to fill more hours of my otherwise empty days. I think that if I really had extra hours to fill in the day, I would probably become very depressed very quickly, because it’s hard enough as it is, sometimes, without adding more hours to my very long total.

There are good days, though. Days when I have too much to do, and I would long for extra hours in those days.

Recently I’ve been watching a lot of films. I’d like more hours in the day to be able to do that. But it would only mean I’d get through more films, quicker.

There’s always sleep. What can a person do with four extra hours in a day? Sleep it off! What better option is there? How many times do we wake up early wishing that we could sleep for just another couple of hours? I’d love that. The freedom to be able to sleep longer, regardless of what you have to do.

Knowing me, I’d only fill those hours with something else to do, however, and leave myself with just as little time to sleep. Sod’s law is what it is.

I feel like I’m still no closer to deciding what I would do with my time.

Let’s think, if it takes five hours to get to London on a bus and it’s too tiring to go back and forth from London in one day – give me five extra hours and some good night’s sleep beforehand, and I would definitely be happy to spend my extra time travelling.

If extra hours in the day means it would be easier to visit friends in distant locations around the country, then that would be perfect. I could go to Bristol, Oxford, Norwich, London, I could even get to Paris, France quicker. Why not, hey?

Having extra hours in the day would change the meaning of travelling. Look at flights to Australia, you can get from the UK to Australia on a twenty-four hour flight. It takes a whole day. But if a day didn’t last for twenty-four hours then you could fit a whole flight to Australia into your day and THEN have some left over. That’s quite a scary thought, like concord and the fact you could go to New York and back on the same day. It’s not impossible these days without concord, but who wants to sit on a six hour flight only to spend a few hours there?

There’s only one design flaw in this plan. Even if you do get a few extra hours sleep each night, will you really feel awake enough to be able to do all of the extra things with the extra hours? I’m not sure I would. I feel tired enough as it is on an average day.

So maybe the only answer is to sleep extra hours, because if you’re too tired to make use of them then what’s the point in having them at all? We might as well use them to rest up and ensure that the hours we do have awake, aren’t wasted on a tired body.

Leave a Reply

