Fives places I’d like to visit in the UK

When I suggested that today’s blog be about five places I’d like to visit in the UK, I didn’t think this thing through. Looking at a map only made me realise how much of the UK I’ve actually covered. I may not have been to every town and city, but the ones I’ve actually had any interest in visiting? I’ve actually been to most of them. I’ve wandered around the streets of Oxford taking in the history, I’ve looked around Bristol in search of Skins sights and I’ve taken a visit, if brief, to York. I’ve explored Cornwall, Devon, The Lake District, and many more parts of the coast and beyond. I’m not sure what else there is left?

But, when there is a challenge, I will always meet it. So, without further ado, here is my list of places I’d like to visit in the UK. Even if my reasons for visiting some are a little random.

1. Newcastle-upon-tyne

Growing up, my best friend was a girl whose family moved from Newcastle. She was born there and her mum still has quite a strong Geordie accent. Yet, I’ve never really been. Not properly anyway. It’s not necessarily a place I long to visit, I’m not desperate to roam around Newcastle but it has always been a place I’ve been conscious of existing. Not only because of my friend, but also because of the children’s television programme Byker Grove. It gave us a glimpse of life on the other side of the country and actually, I’ve not been over the East side that much (aside from London). So if I had to pick a city to visit, it would perhaps be Newcastle.

2. Cardiff

Up until now I’ve been to London, Edinburgh and Belfast, so really Cardiff is the only city missing from my UK capital city list. I have been through it on a train, but that’s as close as I’ve been.

Like with Newcastle, I haven’t exactly got a burning desire to visit there. But I wouldn’t mind. I’d like to explore what Wales has to offer in a city, as I’ve only really been to smaller towns and villages. (Unless you count St Davids, but that’s such a tiny city that I’m not sure it really counts.)

3. Carrickfergus

I think there’s something so magical about the idea of Carrickfergus, whether that perception is realistic or not, I don’t care. I see it with magical, rose-tinted glasses and that’s all that matters to me. I’d love the opportunity to head back over to Northern Ireland, my last visit there was too brief and when I do go, I’d really like to explore a bit more of the countryside. You can blame Charlotte Church, despite my lack of interest in her as a person, she sung a beautiful rendition of a song called Carrickfergus.

‘I wish I was in Carrickfergus
Only for nights in Ballygrand
I would swim over the deepest ocean
Only for nights in Ballygrand’

4. Isle of Man

The Isle of Man confuses me because I can never figure out whether it’s officially part of the UK or not, what with it having its own ways of doing things. Not that it really matters. It feels like some part of history, some olde worlde filled with dragons and knights. Like Carrickfergus, that’s probably not quite the same in reality, but I still expect the place would be steeped in history and have plenty of places to explore. I’ve made it to the Isle of Wight, so other than the other random islands both up top of Scotland and down south, the Isle of Man is the only isle I really want to see.

5. Cambridge

A while back I made a list of things to do before I die, and on that list was a desire to visit both Oxford and Cambridge so that I could see what their universities (and the places themselves) were like. I was able to tick Oxford off my list last year. But I’ve still not been able to get to Cambridge. It’s ridiculous, really, because I have a friend who was at university there but in her three years I didn’t manage to get there once. Something which I really regret. I’d still really love to visit, perhaps with her, or on my own, I don’t mind. But one day I will stroll around Cambridge, buy a University of Cambridge hooded sweatshirt and enjoy a lovely day in, what I believe is, a lovely city.

Where would you like to visit?

One thought on “Fives places I’d like to visit in the UK

  1. Hmm, I think my 5 places would be the Peak District, Loch Tirridon in Scotland, the Northern Irish coast, the Lake District aaaaaand there’s this roof top spa in Bath I’ve wanted to try out for a while, but I suppose I have been to Bath often, not sure if that counts. Maybe somewhere like the west coast of Ireland, be good to drive it!

Leave a Reply

