Autumn

Autumn is such a varied month. Sometimes it’s warm, sometimes it’s cold, sometimes it’s dry and sometimes it’s wet, and sometimes it’s all of the above. Whenever anyone asks the question ‘what is your favourite season?’ I never say autumn. It’s not that I don’t like it, but the dipping temperatures and higher chance of rain usually gives it more cons than pros. That’s not to say that I don’t like it at all. It does have an appeal and I can completely understand how some people love it a lot.

When the heavens haven’t opened and the ground isn’t soaked with rain it’s actually really lovely outside in the autumn. Going for walks around the countryside is great in summer, but when you have a nice, crisp autumn day it can be just as fantastic. You’re not risking heat stroke from the summer sun, or sunburn, and it’s generally not so cold that you feel like your fingers will fall off if you don’t wear gloves.

Then there’s the trees! On those walks you can’t help but notice the lovely colours that the leave turn. The reds, browns, oranges, it’s rather spectacular. I hear that over in the USA, round New England, autumn is a beautiful season because the colours there are even more awe inspiring. It always disappoints me when we rainfall after a large number of leaves have fallen from the trees. I’m sure many people understand. After all, rain means that the leaves don’t have that perfect crunch when you step on them. That doesn’t mean you don’t try, and try, and try again, until you get that perfect sound.

I love food (which if you’ve been reading my blog since the beginning, you will definitely know) and autumn is the perfect opportunity for some different sorts of foods. We don’t normally get much of a summer in the UK, so usually it doesn’t matter that the weather has turned (because it already has!) and food isn’t as much of a difference. But when you have a lovely summer eating things like pie isn’t commonplace. It’s proper wintry weather food, a good hot meal, and I long for the cold nights sat in by the radiator eating chicken pie or some other hot stew.

I suppose you could say that pumpkins are a food option you can’t get at any other time of the year, and whilst that is true, it’s not a food I actually care much to eat. However, carving pumpkins is fun and I can’t wait to carve my home grown pumpkins this year. I don’t tend to celebrate Halloween much, it was always just my sister’s birthday, or a day when I tried to go trick or treating but by the time I could actually remember doing so, I was too old to go and my friends and I failed miserably. I’m not one for dressing up, either. The pumpkins are my way of celebrating the day without too much drama or fuss.

I even love a bit of autumn poetry. There’s something about the colours of the leaves, the sounds, the feel of being outside in the autumn which makes me feel like writing poetry. I remember writing a poem about bonfire night when I was a child. It wasn’t very good and the rhymes were pretty juvenile. I still enjoy it though and if I could kick my arse in gear long enough, I would attempt a little something. Maybe later on this autumn.

The poem I wrote was about bonfire night, which is something I don’t tend to celebrate anymore. It’s a strange occasion to celebrate because it’s all about a guy who committed treason. I wonder what people in other countries think about this weird ‘holiday’ of ours. I have many good memories of going to bonfires as a child, though. Back in the day my old primary school had one, it was out on the field and I remember being in the infant’s entrance where all the infant’s pegs were. That probably shows how young I was when it happened. The last bonfire I went to was probably the bonfire of an old friend, they had it on a piece of land opposite their house and it was always a fun occasion. Except, I’ve never much liked black peas and that’s something people tend to eat at that time of the year. Then there’s toffee apples, I don’t understand that concept. I like fruit, I like apple, but I’d rather eat the apple before eating the toffee. I am a fan of treacle toffee though. The last couple of years I went to a bonfire in the car park of my old Scout hut; that was fun, it rained.

One of my favourite things, above all else, about autumn is something so simple. It’s not quite the same anymore because I don’t sit in the lounge the way I used to. I love those nights where you’re coming home in the dark, it’s not that late but the sky’s dark and the heaven open and you get soaking wet. As a rule of thumb I hate to be dripping wet, I hate to have shoes that leak and a coat that soaks through. But on one of those rare nights where the rain is pouring down and it doesn’t stop, you’re forced to walk through it until you’re home. Then when you’re in the house, your shoes are abandoned by the door, your coat and every piece of clothing (underwear included) is on the radiator, or in the washing machine and you get into your pyjamas even though it’s only five or six in the evening and you sit in the cosy, warm house. That’s what autumn is for me and that’s what I look forward to later in the autumn.

What are you looking forward to? Do you have any special autumn rituals?

2 thoughts on “Autumn

  1. You know, when I’m asked my favourite season I usually answer ‘the next one’! Our seasons seem perfectly spaced for me to feel that the next one arrives at just the right moment. Yesterday I rediscovered the joys of a snugly coat and all of a sudden I’m really looking forward to the cosyness of wrapping up warm, hot water bottles and marshmallows in my hot chocolate…not to mention bonfires, autumn colours and those gloriously blue skies you only seem to get when it’s slightly chilly.

    I love summer, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed this one, but right now I can hand on heart say my FAVOURITE season is the next one 😀

    1. That’s a really good way of looking at it. I think the wintery seasons can almost feel a little too long, and if we had a proper, hot summer, we’d probably see it in the same way Aussies do. Hopefully winter won’t be quite so long this year and autumn will prove to be everything it should be.

      It’s weird to think some countries/areas of the world don’t really get seasons. I remember watching an episode of NCIS and they were talking about spring cleaning and the conversation went something like this:

      “You didn’t have spring cleaning in Israel?”
      “We do not have spring. Israel is a desert.”

      Guess it makes our varied seasons all the more special.

Leave a Reply

