Italy Day Two: Boats, Lemons and a Very High Mountain

It’s amazing how slowly twenty-four hours can pass when you’re in another country. It’s like time has stood still, and yet in some ways it has sped along faster than ever. The fears of the mountainside I had yesterday have already dropped off and I can feel my whole body is exhausted in a way only holidays can make it. Stopping. Just taking time away from every day life, can really make you feel so tired. I thought working was exhausting, but nothing really prepares me for that moment I want to sleep at the end of a busy day out of the house.

This morning we walked up the mountain. It was a road, so it wasn’t like we were climbing, but still we went further up the mountainside, up a steep hill. We walked for about a kilometre, where we reached what we thought was the top of the cable car. It wasn’t. We were extremely high up, the views were fantastic, and yet there was further we could have gone. We’re planning on taking a trip up the cable car, but I’m not sure how any of us will feel about going that high up.

We had to make a quick dash to the supermarket because, like in France, they close early on a Sunday. Or at least some of them do (we found a couple of others that don’t later on). I’m amazed at how lacking in large supermarkets this whole area is. Perhaps we’re not going to the right places, or maybe Italy just doesn’t have as many. I honestly don’t know. What I did find, however, was penis shaped pasta. I don’t really understand why they would sell such a thing, it’s quite random, and something many Brits would chuckle about.

In the afternoon we got the boat from Malcesine (where we are staying) to Limone, which is full of lemons, and lemon products. One shop had massive lemons bigger than both of my hands clasped together. Other shops were selling various limoncello and lemon-related products. Mostly, we just wandered the streets, ate our sandwiches, and had an ice cream. I had Frutti di Bosco, which I think is probably mixed berry.

I really enjoy going out on boats. I’m not a sea person, I don’t have sea legs and in so many ways I dislike the sea. But I do like sitting on, or rowing, a boat out into the middle of a lake. There’s something very different in lake and river air than sea air. If we could have been out on the lake all day, I would.

I am so grateful that we are here, in this beautiful place, enjoying wonderful food and I am so relaxed. Even if walking everywhere and the warmth in the air is making me feel extra-tired.

Some photos from the day:



(Limone from the boat.)

(Gelato!)

(Penis shaped pasta.)

Leave a Reply

