Italy Day Five: Waterfall Showers, Lake Swimming and Mountain Walks

I feel like my legs are about to fall off. Today has been very busy, and exceptionally enjoyable. I think it’s safe to say it’s been the best day yet.

In the morning we did our usual breakfast/lunch making routine, then set off to Varone where there’s a waterfall. We had to pay to get in, which was quite disappointing as it wasn’t a very big place for the amount we paid. However, it was a wonderful thing to see. From higher up and down the bottom, seeing the water splashing through the gorge it had created was just brilliant. We got quite wet from the spray, and though we didn’t expect to, it was really refreshing. (See the picture below! That was taken on my second trip in to take a photo on my phone so I could blog it!)

After the waterfall shower we went to another lake not far from Lake Garda. Lago di Ledro was definitely my favourite place we have been so far. The lake was big enough that you could see across it and it feel large, but actually it’s quite small. Especially when compared on a map to it’s “big brother” Lake Garda. As Google had informed us, it’s a great place to go if you’re not really bothered by the tourism of Lake Garda. After the disappointing town the day before, it was great to go somewhere that was ‘off the beaten track’. It was busy enough that there were people around and cafes, but it was really quite quiet.

There were a number of rude people, unfortunately, who took over picnic tables yet were lying on towels on the floor! We only wanted one for half an hour to eat our lunch. People’s selfishness astounds me sometimes.

Once I got over the frustrations of human beings, we went swimming. The first swim we’ve been able to do this holiday and I am so glad I didn’t leave my swimming costume at home.

I’ve always disliked swimming in the sea. The mixture of salt water drying on your skin, salt water in your eyes, and the water/sand mix coming out of the sea makes me loathe doing much more than paddling. Even that I tend to avoid. I much prefer to swim in fresh water. It was brilliant. The water was quite cold when you first got in, but it was actually very refreshing. We swam quite a distance, just splashing about in the still water. It reminded me how much I do like water, in so many ways. We have a love/hate relationship. Flooding frightens me a lot. But I love to swim in lakes and I love to go out on a row boat.

The day was topped off by a walk down the side of the mountain. We had an hour before it was due to go dark, so we set off down the hill. It’s a few kilometres to the town, so we didn’t expect we’d get that far – and we didn’t – but we did see how far we can get. The steepest, and most strenuous, part was right before we turned around. When we got back to the top we visited a hotel (which we weren’t sure we could go to, but turns out we could) to get a drink. Then walked the rest of the way in the twilight. It was dark by the time we got ‘home’ but that felt okay. Once we got past the bit straight after the hotel it was one long road uphill.

What a day. Walking, swimming, and more walking, it’s been exhausting, but it’s been worth it.

(I’m a day behind; should get to post todays tomorrow at some point, hopefully.)

Here are some photos from the day:



(I do love a good translation, this was at the entrance to a camping site we walked through.)



(The waterfall! My phone, and myself, were getting very wet at the moment it was taken.)

Leave a Reply

