Fa la la la la

Oh Christmas Tree, oh Christmas Tree, deck the halls with bows of holly, fa la la la la, la la la la, we wish you a merry Christmas, and a partridge in a pear tree.

It’s that time of year again. For the last few weeks people have been playing Christmas songs and everybody’s been groaning at how early it is. But now it’s December, now nobody has any excuses.

For the last few years I’ve put the average Christmas carol to one side, ignored the top 40 of Christmas, and found a bit of Christmas cheer in the unlikeliest of places: Australia.

I recently spent a month in Australia, it’s a country where my heart has belonged long before I’d ever set foot there. So much so that ever since I discovered a little thing called Australian Christmas carols, my life (and my Christmas) has never been the same.

Now, I’m sure you’ll agree Australia and Christmas don’t really go together. As a British born human, Christmas is a time when we place bets on whether there’ll be snow, and we always, always have a full roast dinner.

Australia, unfortunately, get all of the hype of a white Christmas, with none of the reward. Some places hit 40 degrees on Christmas Day, and some are threatened with bush fires.

So, what exactly does an Australian Christmas carol entail? Everything Aussie, of course.

There is no song that quite explains an Australian Christmas quite like Jingle Bells. (I know, I know…dashing through the snow hardly sounds Australian, but take a few minutes to listen anyway!)

Leave a Reply

