Advent: December 3rd – Deck The Halls

Deck The Halls may be the most interesting of the songs I choose over the advent period. Unlike Jingle Bells and Do You Hear What I Hear, I haven’t been able to find an extensive list of artists who have covered the song. I have, however, discovered a history equally interesting to that of Jingle Bells.

The song isn’t simply a Christmas carol, its history dates as far back as the sixteenth century and the tune is actually Welsh. A poet, John Ceiriog Hughes wrote the first lyrics, which are in Welsh and named the song Nos Galan (which translates as New Year’s Eve). The version we all (unless maybe the Welsh?) know and love isn’t a translation of the Welsh carol and are actually considered to have been created by an American, though it’s difficult to find out exactly who wrote them.

Following the same pattern of the days before, I’d like to share with you the original Welsh version of the song (the translation is on the YouTube page for the song, if you’re interested).

I definitely wanted to share a more, I don’t want to say traditional because the Welsh version is really the traditional one, a version we are more likely to recognise. This one is by James Taylor, after a brief visit to YouTube I discovered this version and thought it sounded particularly nice.

And like yesterday, I can’t help but feel the need to share the Australian version of the traditional carol. Deck the Shed with Bits of Wattle.

If you want to listen to any other versions, this one by Aly & AJ is particularly different: http://youtu.be/BC4RDx88eZw
And of course, Bing Crosby is always a winner (and probably the most familiar too): http://youtu.be/sQNUeOOqMyU

Any suggestions for tomorrow’s song?

Leave a comment